WANTED SEMINAR SERIES : FEMME FATALE

IMG_8373 IMG_8372 IMG_8374 IMG_8375 IMG_8376 IMG_8377

It is clear to say that I could relate to this seminar even before I attended it. It really is interesting to see an issue like this taken so seriously/ prioritize in society because this has always been some what of a taboo topic back home in Malaysia.

The posters were really well done and I found the fact that I recognized my course mates in the poster images gave me another point of reference that encouraged me to attend the seminar. The grey scale images come off as really classy and I decided that I would want to incorporate that concept for some of my initial poster design drafts.

The femme fatale theme was well done, with the staging (background image of the city was a very nice touch), the red carpet, and the door gift (striped cups with gummy snakes). It just got me into the mood of things the moment I entered the door that really is very important. The guest speakers, Genni Tosi (CEO film Victoria), Brodie Lancaster (writer/editor/filmme fatale/ the Goof Copy) and Elizabeth Mccarthy were such wonderful and empowering women. I really appreciated the rawness and the honesty that they gave us regarding feminism, and the experiences they have had in the industry. In terms of information, they were straight to the point, precise and definitely open about the question.

Michael was also a fantastic emcee, he asked some very good questions. Most of the information I found interesting can be found in my notes that is attached below.

I enjoyed the rolls, probably because I was starving. I still can’t stand licorice, I tried. I gave them mostly High Distinctions and Distinctions for their grades because I think everything was done well, not much hiccups or technical errors. Before I forget, the biggest thing I got out from this seminar is for us ladies to remember to NOT SELL OURSELVES SHORT. I am going to work on my work/self-confidence because if I don’t believe in my work/self, no one will!

(I can’t expect anyone else to.)

Leave a comment